Marriage License

Marriage License Process

  1. Verify that you meet all of the application requirements.
  2. Apply for a license by contacting the Emery County Clerk/Auditor’s office.  (Applications are not available on line as per law requires.)

Application Requirements

1.  Pay Application Fee

Initial Fee:  $25.00 (includes certified copy) Cash or Check only please.

Additional Copies of License:  $5.00

2.  Provide the following information:
  • Full names, including the maiden name of the female.
  • Social Security Numbers, unless the applicant has not been assigned a number.*
  • Permanent Address
  • Date and place of birth (town or city, county, state or county, if possible)
  • Names of respective parents, including maiden name of mother.
  • Birthplaces of father and mother (state or country)
  • Race of applicants

*The Social Security numbers obtained will not be recorded on the marriage license, and are not open to inspection as part of the vital statistics files.  The Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Records, and Health Statistics shall upon request, supply those Social Security Numbers to the Office of Recovery Services within the Department of Human Services.  The Office of Recovery Services may not use any Social Security numbers obtained under the authority of this requirement for any reason other than the administration of child support services. 

3.  Provide One Form of Identification

Acceptable forms include driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport.

4.  Provide Proof of Legal Age (18 yrs +)*

Acceptable forms of proof include valid driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport.

*Applicants under 18 years of age may apply for a marriage license if all requirements are met including the following additional requirements:

Age Requirement
16 or 17A parent or legal guardian must be present to sign consent.
15An authorization to marry must be provided by a juvenile judge of the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the county where either party to the marriage resides.  The written authorization must also be obtained from a court commissioner as permitted by rule of the Judicial Council.  Contact the Clerk/Auditor office for a form.
14 & underApplicants under 14 years of age cannot obtain a marriage license under Utah law.(Section 30-1-9 Marriage by Minors)
Additional Information

Licenses are valid for 30 days from date of issue and may be used within the State of Utah.